Different Types of Vehicle no plate in India

Different Types of Vehicle no plate in India

Each vehicle receives a number plate, also known as a vehicle registration plate, from the RTO. The RTO issues a total of 8 different types of licence plates. Here is everything you should know about them.

 Different Types of Vehicle no plate in India listed below:

White number plate: The most popular style of vehicle registration plate is the white number plate, which has black lettering. These licence plates are only used on private vehicles. In other words, these vehicles are not allowed to be used for passenger or cargo transportation for hire.

Yellow number plate: Yellow licence plates have a black text pattern on them. These licence plates for vehicles are only permitted for commercial use. Please be aware that to operate such vehicles, the driver must possess a commercial driver’s licence.

Green number plate: If you see a green number plate on a vehicle, you can be sure it belongs to an electric vehicle. These can be used on both commercial electric vehicles and electric buses that are allowed on public roads.

Black number plate: Black licence plates are very common for luxury hotel transportation. Additionally, these vehicles can be used for commercial purposes and operated on public roads without the need for a commercial driver’s licence.

Red number plate: The red number plate signifies that the brand-new car is still waiting to receive a permanent vehicle registration plate (issued by the RTO). The validity of a temporary vehicle registration is one month. Each state has its own regulations regarding temporary licence plates for vehicles. In fact, some Indian states forbid the operation of vehicles with temporary licence plates.

Blue number plate: A vehicle designated for foreign diplomats is given a blue number plate with white letters from the appropriate authority. These licence plates have alphabets on them, including UN (United Nations), CC (Consular Corps), and DC (Diplomatic Corps). These licence plates come with the diplomat’s country code rather than a state code. You can decode any diplomat’s country code by using the table below.

Number plate with an upward-pointing arrow: If you’ve ever closely examined a military vehicle, you might have noticed that the number plates that are attached to it have a distinctive design. Those licence plates’ numbers are registered with the Ministry of Defense. Broad Arrow refers to the first and third upward-pointing arrows on this type of licence plate. In many locations throughout the British Commonwealth, these arrows point upward. The year the military vehicle was acquired is indicated by the two digits that come right after the arrow. The serial number is then placed after the base code. The vehicle class is identified by the penultimate letter of the licence number.

Red number plate: Red number plate with the Indian flag emblazoned on it: This is a very special type of number plate that features the Indian flag emblazoned on it in golden colour.

Number plates and the designated user

  • White licence plates are available for regular people.
  • Vehicles with a yellow number plate may only be driven by commercial drivers.
  • Drivers of electric vehicles are permitted to use licence plates that are green in colour.
  • Cars with black number plates typically have yellow lettering, and rental car drivers often drive these cars.
  • Red number plate: Red number plates with white alpha-numerals are typically retained by the vehicle’s manufacturer or dealer and are used on brand-new automobiles.
  • Blue licence plate with white alpha-numerals is acceptable for use by foreign delegates or ambassadors.
  • Military personnel who have a number plate with an upward-pointing arrow are allowed to drive cars with that type of licence plate.
  • The President of India or the Governors of the corresponding states may use a red licence plate with the “Emblem of India.”


A brand-new vehicle that has not yet been registered by the appropriate RTO is given a temporary vehicle registration plate, as the name implies. One month is the duration of the temporary registration number plate’s validity. All temporary registration plates will have color-coded alpha-numerals depending on the type of vehicle, in accordance with the updated standards announced by MoRTH.

All vehicle owners are required by Section 39 of the Motor Vehicles Act of 1988 to obtain their permanent registration number from the appropriate RTO before operating their vehicle on Indian roads. Every vehicle has a permanent registration number, which serves as an identification number.

High security registration plates – In accordance with the Central Motor Vehicles Rule 1989, all vehicles registered after April 1, 2019, must display either a high security registration plate or (HSRP). All outdated vehicles with outdated licence plates must adhere to this new standard. In addition to the Ashok Chakra hologram and the International Registration Code of India (IND), the high security registration plate is made of aluminium and has a special laser-etched code.

This number plate also has snap-locks, making it unusable in the event of a tampering attempt. In India, high security registration plates are the norm and are intended to maintain a digital record of all registered vehicles.

Fancy licence plate—With fancy licence plates, the font and size of the number plate on your car can be customised.

What is high security number plate?

Many of you must be having this question in mind, What is high security number plate? Here’s an answer to it: A High Security Registration Plate must be present on all vehicles sold in India before 1 April 2019. (HSRP). If a vehicle is found driving without a HSRP, hefty fines of between Rs. 5,000 and Rs. 10,000 are assessed. Your car’s number plate is made of aluminium and is called a HSRP. A 10-digit Permanent Identification Number (PIN) is printed on the plate along with an Ashoka Chakra hologram. The fuel type is indicated on a HSRP by a sticker that is color-coded.

What is 22 bh number plate?

The 22 BH number plate series will be a huge relief for those who must move states due to employment or for any other reason; this number series will enable vehicle registration throughout India. This implies that the initials BH, which stands for Bharat, will now be used in place of the previous initials DL or MH, which were based on state names. The Bharat series of automobiles is intended for private vehicles. Currently, private vehicles are subject to a fifteen-year road tax requirement; however, the Bharat series only requires two years of road tax payments before the owner is free to move to another state and resume paying the tax.

A specific set of requirements must be satisfied in order to obtain this BH series. state government employees, Defense personnel, central government staff, central/state PSUs, and private sector companies with offices in five or more states/UTs may use this BH series numbers because the employees have a transferable job. Only under the aforementioned conditions is the BH series applicable.

The citizens will gain a lot from this BH series. Both state government and private company employees frequently relocate within the same state. The challenge of transferring vehicles from one registration state to another comes with this common practise. According to Section 47 of the Motor Vehicles Act of 1988, the owner is permitted to keep the car for a year in a state other than the one in which it is registered, so this transfer is required.

A new number series for licence plates that begins with the letter “BH” is called the Bharat Series. The Indian government’s Ministry of Transport is responsible for producing this series. The Bharat Series is a brand-new set of licence plates for automobiles in India that begins with the letter “BH.”